Close this search box.

About the Darebin Creek Management Committee

Our Vision

The Darebin is a healthy and natural creek supporting thriving communities of plants and animals. A place where the connections of people and nature are appreciated and deepened. Darebin Creek brings communities together as a place of discovery, recreation, restoration and celebration.

Our Mission

Darebin Creek Management Committee is the custodian of this Vision. We work with communities, governments and other landholders to achieve this vision through:

Our History

The Darebin Creek Management Committee Inc. (DCMC) was formed in 2001 by amalgamating the Darebin Creek Co-ordinating Committee and the Darebin Parklands Committee of Management. These two Committees have been operating since their inception in 1984 and 1973 respectively. The Committee share a common interest in improving the Darebin Creek and adjoining open space.

The DCMC consists of seven member organisations: the local government areas Darebin Creek flows through, being Banyule, Darebin, Whittlesea and Yarra, La Trobe University, and the community organisations Friends of Darebin Creek and the Friends of Darebin Parklands.

The Committee has made many achievements in retaining open space and protecting the natural environment along the Darebin Creek Valley.